YouTube has begun offering a safety mode to Google and YouTube account holders.

The mode allows users to choose to filter content that doesn’t meet YouTube’s Community Guidelines. This option will censor both video content and users comments. The mode appears at the bottom of each page, allowing users to toggle it on and off.

The move comes after Google told communications minister Stephen Conroy it would not voluntarily comply with the Government’s request to censor ‘Refused Classification’ content.