Type to search

Hamish and Andy Best Team again


Hamish and Andy Best Team again


Commercial Radio Australia has honoured a range of radio stars at the Australian Commercial Radio Awards.

Held at the Sydney Entertainment and Convention Centre, Hamish and Andy took the Best On-Air Team award for their drive-time program, the highest rating in Australia with two million listeners. Derryn Hinch took the Best Talk Presenter award, Ryan Shelton took Best Newcomer, Dylan Lewis was named Best Music Personality, while the Best News Presenter title was shared by Kristy Warner and Jane Doyle. Ray Hadley took three awards for Best Current Affairs Commentator, Best Sports Presenter and best Sports Event Coverage. Jason Morrison won the Brian White Memorial award, recognising sustained journalistic achievement, for the second time

“Their commitment and dedication to their audiences continues to drive broadcasting to new levels. With the introduction this year of digital radio in five capital cities across Australia, listening audiences can expect those standards to further increase,” said Joan Warner, CEO of Commercial Radio Australia.

Radio engineer Des DeCean was inducted into the Commercial Radio Hall of Fame at the ceremony. DeCean was responsible for first introducing the use of CDs on air and has recently been involved with the introduction of digital radio.

“Des has worked tirelessly in Australia and on the world stage to continue to innovate and improve the technical aspects of the Australian radio industry throughout his long career,” said Warner.

Leave a Comment